Reviews

What people are saying about Ashcroft Farmhouse




Thank you - Rating 5/5

A pleasant and friendly stay.Elizabeth put herself out to meet our quite specific requirements, and we are very grateful.We will be back to stay when we are next in the area.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Willoughby | Tue 24th Oct 2017


A really pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Elizabeth and Derek are such a lovely friendly hosts.Clean accommodation, great breakfast would highly recommend this to our friends and family.

Reviewer:Elizabeth Cornish | Sun 22nd Oct 2017


Hospitality unlimited - Rating 5/5

One of the best guest houses we have ever stayed. A wonderful welcome, comfortable rooms and a breakfast of excellent quantity and quantity. Elizabeth and Derek are a marvellous example of Scottish hospitality.Hope to return next year!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Manfred Bunk | Wed 18th Oct 2017


Can\'t stop thinking about the place.- Rating 5/5

Certainly the best B&B of our trip. Elizabeth was just great and really kind and generous with our family helping out with directions and providing a birthday surprise for the youngest who turned 9 during their stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse.We stayed twice actually and each time we had a fantastic room and very comfy bed. Bathroom facilities nice and clean. Breakfast and the breakfast room were a true experience. Again thank you Elizabeth and take care.

Reviewer:Patricia Moore | Wed 18th Oct 2017


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) and all really enjoyed our stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse. Comfortable, friendly, helpful and fabulous breakfasts. We would recommend it and definitely stay again if we have the opportunity.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma Missen | Sun 8th Oct 2017


Awesome Host and facilities - Rating 5/5

I give this B&B and A+ rating. My host was amazing and the facilities were great. And the Breakfast... Oh my! mouth watering. I highly recommend stating here.

Reviewer:Robert Fimreite | Thu 21st Sep 2017


Terry and Elaine Winters 9/4-14/17 - Rating 5/5

Dear Derrick and Elizabeth, Terry and I would like to thank you for a wonderful stay at Ashcroft Farm .We felt very comfortable and at home. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. Our room was warm and very comfortable. The entire place was spotless and interesting. You both were so friendly and personable. I would recommend Ashcroft Farm to all my friends and family. Terry and I hope to return one day. Thank you again for everything.

Reviewer:Terry & Elaine Winters | Fri 15th Sep 2017


Very enjoyable holiday - Rating 5/5

Thank you Elizabeth and Derek for your kind hospitality, the lovely breakfast and entertainment from Derek.We love staying with you and hope to be back in the near future.

Reviewer:Jacqueline Dempsey | Thu 14th Sep 2017


What a lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Elizabeth and Derek\'s B&B. Rooms are clean and cosy, breakfast is fantastic.Elizabeth\'s advice on local restaurant and bus stop were very useful and much appreciated.Warm welcome guaranteed!We will certainly recommend them or go back ourselves.Thank you again and hope you enjoyed the Belgian chocolates ;0. Christine, Eric, Simon and Victor Bayart. August 2017

Reviewer:Christene Glorieux | Thu 31st Aug 2017


Excellant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights , as were visiting Edinburgh for the tattoo. Elizabeth made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived . Nothing was too much trouble. Huge and excellent breakfasts , (you will not want to eat all day !). Room was clean , and tidy , and had everything in it that we needed , and the bath robe was a nice touch . We would not hesitate to stay again . Additionally Ashcroft is in a perfect location to get into Edinburgh with park and ride just down the road.

Reviewer:Miss. Caroline Brown | Tue 29th Aug 2017


Our Stay at Ashcroft Farm House - Rating 5/5

We shall never forget the stay, the hospitality was beyond belief. Elizabeth and Derek excel themselves, we have enjoyed many Farm Stays over the UK but this one topped them all.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Bill Kite | Thu 24th Aug 2017


Good fun - Rating 5/5

What a nice and warm welcome and what a great place for discovering Edinburgh and surroundings! Chatting with Elizabeth is good fun. The breakfast is outstanding! We enjoyed our stay very much.

Reviewer:Mr. G. Bril | Wed 23rd Aug 2017


Great Welcome - Rating 5/5

This offers the best of Scottish welcomes with a smile, a story &genuine wish to provide quality accommodation.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Dave Mackie | Tue 15th Aug 2017


one night stay - Rating 5/5

Although we were only staying for 1 night we had a really warm welcome on our arrival from Mrs Scott. The room was very nice and clean.The breakfast the following day was large and filling and was really good. I will certainly recommend Ashcroft Farmhouse and if the situation arises would not hesitate in staying there again.

Reviewer:Mr Fred Piggford | Tue 15th Aug 2017


Wonderful staying - Rating 5/5

Very kind welcome and really wonderful experience!

Reviewer:Mr. CLAUDIOMANERA| Tue 15th Aug 2017


A Very Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

Thank you Elizabeth and Derek for looking after us all so well with a very warm welcome and an excellent breakfast. It made our trip to Edinburgh and the Tattoo even better.Thank you again. Zara

Reviewer:Napier Family | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

Our stay here far exceeded our high expectations, we had a warm welcome from Elizabeth &Derek. The house was immaculate &tastefully decorated. The breakfast was delicious &served with a lovely smile. We can see why people return to such a welcoming place. Thank you 😊 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Powell | Fri 4th Aug 2017


Still as good as ever - Rating 5/5

Just stayed for one night, would happily stay here for longer - and come back again. Warm, friendly hosts, lovely accommodation. I don\'t eat cooked breakfast but the appetising fare the other guests were treated to almost made me change my mind! Thanks, Elizabeth and Derek

Reviewer:Coral Davies | Wed 2nd Aug 2017


Gem - Rating 5/5

Chosen off the internet. Warm welcome and friendly hostess. Good nights sleep and great breakfast. \"Does exactly what it says on the tin\". Regards John (a travelling paint salesman)

Reviewer:JohnBagley | Wed 12th Jul 2017


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was very good and the host very friendly we enjoyed our short stay very much. We would recomend the establishment to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Bill Gray | Tue 11th Jul 2017


Excellent Service- Rating 5/5

Hi Both. We all had a great time thank you for the lovely accommodation and hospitality Hope to see you in the next couple of years Thank you from the Ball Family

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Ball | Tue 27th Jun 2017


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B I would highly recommended it and definitely stay again. Fantastic choices for breakfast and really helpful when we had a very early start by providing sandwiches and juice.

Reviewer:Sandra Loder | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay,excellent breakfast,really nice host who was very helpful .

Reviewer:ROWENA PARKINSON | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome. Good food as always and a wonderful person running the house.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Rita & Paul Nels | Sat 24th Jun 2017


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Good wifi. Wonderful breakfast with many choices :-)Friendly host.Clean and nice place to stay.

Reviewer:Mary Carstensen | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


Happy Guests - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended place to stay. Superb breakfast, good location, very clean. Host very friendly and hospitable.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Stuart Berrisford | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


Great place - Rating 5/5

As always best service, nice place and lovely owners. We keep coming back.

Reviewer:Rita & Paul Nels | Thu 8th Jun 2017


Repeat visitor - Rating 5/5

Ashcroft Farmhouse is apparently the main B&B in a group of B&Bs that are located adjacently and run by members of an extended family. I have stayed there twice, and both times have had the impression that reservations for any of three places are usually done through Ashcroft. Technically, the first time I stayed, I actually ended up staying at one of the adjacent places, but on my most recent trip I stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse proper. This is a first rate B&B. I stay in LOTs of B&Bs throughout the UK, and have been very happy with all of them. Ashcroft seems to me to be run almost more like a very small hotel in some regards, primarily because there are so many rooms available between the three related places. But the rooms are very B&B-like, and you always have the sense that you are staying in the home of the owner, and are their personal guest, not just in some anonymous business. Having said that, Ashcroft\'s owner-operator has been doing this for quite along time, and the main house was purpose built to be a B&B, so the layout is optimized for good room layout, modern facilities, large dining room for breakfasts, etc. She has many awards on the wall that attest to he long time excellence as a B&B (and small business) owner.Besides the above, I was drawn to this B&B because A) is is very near Edinburgh airport (15 minutes by car to the terminal), yet is B) still \'out in the country\' where it is quiet and with a pastoral vibe. Although I have not taken advantage of it, apparently a bus to the city center comes right by the place, so this B&B would be an excellent base of operations for a multi-day visit to the Edinburgh area, using public transportation only.Ashcroft is also quite near attractions such as the Falkirk Wheel and is in sight of the famous massive old Forth Railway bridge, not to mention the adjacent old Firth of Forth road suspension bridge and the brand new road bridge.The price is quite fair and reasonable.I recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Paul Schmidt | Sun 4th Jun 2017


OUR SECOND HOME - Rating 5/5

we have been guests at Ashcroft ever since the house was built and stayed with the hosts since 1989 Always the highest standard and most comfortable and friendly.BEST B&B IN SCOTLAND

Reviewer:Mr. robert Edwardson | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Home from home - Rating 5/5

I decided to choose this B&B over the usual chain of accommodation available on business travel. I\'m glad I did. A very cosy place in a great location. The hosts were very welcoming. A great choice of breakfast options available. All cooked to perfection. My 3 night stay was home from home. I will stay again if I\'m working in the area, or if I\'m visiting Edinburgh on holiday.

Reviewer:JOHN WEBSTER | Mon 29th May 2017


excellent b&b - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, clean and comfortable rooms with plenty of space and great breakfast. This is our third stay and would highly recommend

Reviewer:Ms. Sue Thomas | Mon 29th May 2017


Good adress- Rating 4/5

Very nice place, good breakfast, sympathetic hosts, practical access to Edinburgh

Reviewer:Mr. BICHON CHARLES | Mon 29th May 2017


Wonderfully comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

This was our first stay at Ashcroft but we won\'t hesitate to return. We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfast choices are great and very generous, setting us up for the whole day! Very comfortable beds!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Manson | Fri 19th May 2017


Stay 12th 13th May - Rating 5/5

Had to make a lastminute change to the booking dares and got it sorted with no trouble- Room was perfect and the breakfast was amazing- \"huge portions\".will def stay here again when I next visit Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs Chaudhri | Mon 15th May 2017


fabulous B&B - Rating 5/5

Fantastic friendly and efficient owners. Great breakfast and very convenient for sightseeing. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Garlick | Mon 15th May 2017


Ashcroft Farmhouse- Rating 5/5

Lovely place, great breakfast. Hope to return soon.

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs Chaudhri | Mon 15th May 2017


Return Visit- Rating 5/5

I would not hesitate in returning to stay for my next visit, the hospitality is second to none. Elizabeth and her daughter in law are fantastic hosts and provide a friendly atmosphere. Travel to and from Edinburgh easy with park and ride

Reviewer:Kenny McKellar| Mon 15th May 2017


Awesome visit!! - Rating 5/5

Was here 23 years ago. Nothing has changed. Amazing food and the ultimate hosts!!One could not ask for a better B&B. I would happily recommend Ashcroft to anyone and everyone!! Thank you Elizabeth and Derek for another wonderful stay!!

Reviewer:Marilyn Moakes | Sat 29th Apr 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We had a really good time, breakfast was excellent, the host Elisabeth is a really really nice and funny lady, the rooms are very clean and everything you need is there. Nothing to complain about !!!! We had a very nice stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Lode Haling | Sat 29th Apr 2017


Busy Weekend! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed all the facilities available here &had a comfortable &welcoming stay. Elizabeth provides a wonderful choice of breakfasts &having eaten the excellent Scottish Breakfast, you won\'t need lunch!, The garden is beautiful.The B&B is so convenient for city or country &very handy for the wonderful Jupiter Artland.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Robert Harvey | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Above and beyond - Rating 5/5

As previously Elizabeth and Derek were the perfect hosts who couldn\'t do enough for us! Will definitely stay again if we\'re up your way!Hope Derek is feeling better.Many thanks!

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan Roe | Sat 18th Mar 2017


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely place well maintained inside and outEXCELLENT BREAKFAST

Reviewer:Mr. Fred Platts | Thu 16th Mar 2017


Excellent bed and breakfast- Rating 5/5

Elizabeth\'s 50 years experience of providing an excellent bed and breakfast service was self evident when we stayed recently.Warm friendly greeting, comfortable rooms with excellent little extras.In addition, the superb quality and choice at breakfast will ensure our return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Jones | Sat 14th Jan 2017


Really nice rooms & great service - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms, and the best breakfast ever. Always super service and a positive outlook on life. Look forward to going back in february 2017.

Reviewer:Robert & Lottie Murray | Tue 20th Dec 2016


accommodation - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure to stay at the farmhouse, Elizabeth and Derek are a very warmly and homely couple, they make you feel at home the minute you walk into the premises, at their breakfasts are out of this world, all food is of the highest quality and freshly cooked for you, and your choice is somewhat spoilt, from your fresh juice to your coffee or tea, and the dining room is tastefully decorated, I would recommend this place to all, and I am not one to recommend accommodation to anyone, just for the breakfast it is worth one nights stay.

Reviewer:Mr. kenneth munro | Wed 7th Dec 2016


Half-Term break in Scotland. - Rating 5/5

We had a very relaxing stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse and really enjoyedthe excellent food for breakfast each morning. Elizabeth and Derrick looked after us so well and made us feel at home straightaway. Would recommend this lovely place to anyone visiting Edinburgh and the East coast o Scotland.

Reviewer:Mr. Bob Finch | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Absolutely fab. stay - Rating 5/5

A great thank you to Elisabeth for at great stay. Lovely room, great bed, and fantastic breakfast. A most friendly atmosphere, and recieved personally by the host. Its also very good, that we could park safely in a private parking space - very important when you have a rented car. And we have already booked our next two prolonged weekends - when we come over from Denmark.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Murray | Sun 16th Oct 2016


wonderful stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse - Rating 5/5

We arieved on Sunday and stayed two nights. The hospitility of Elizabeth and Derek was great. Wonderful room. Best breakfast.

Reviewer:Dr. Karl Schmidt | Sat 15th Oct 2016


Short break - Rating 5/5

We had a super time in Scotland ,your beautiful home was a very comfortable base for our tour around places of interest to boaters. The Falkirk wheel, the Kelpies and the Royal yacht Britannia. The hospitality was exceptional, the breakfasts not only enormous bout very tasty ,with lots of choice. The entertainment a welcome added extra. We have already recommended you to friends and family. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Salthouse | Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Warm and pleasant welcome. Made to feel very welcome with spacious room with everything required. Special and filling breakfast with extremely pleasant hosts. Would certainly recommend!

Reviewer:Mr. Alister Waterston| Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Lovely B&B with lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

nice room, excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Ralf Mauren | Sat 1st Oct 2016


accomodation - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fabulous.probably the nicest bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in .Thank you.

Reviewer:Ian Mackay | Tue 20th Sep 2016


What a welcome ! - Rating 5/5

I have never made made to feel so welcome when arriving somewhere to stay for the night. I had a really comfortable stay and a wonderful breakfast in the morning.

Reviewer:Dr. Fiona Mckay | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Friendly and well-organized B&B - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed the en-suite room and the food very much. A well organized and friendly B&B.

Reviewer:Mr. John W Harting | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Stayed overnight - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and the hostess very friendly. Lovely breakfast. Ideally located for the airport.

Reviewer:Toni Campbell | Tue 6th Sep 2016


Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Our stay was fabulous. Elizabeth is very welcoming. The breakfasts were fantastic. The park and drive makes it very easy to access Edinburgh while enjoying the quiet location of Ashcroft Farmhouse.

Reviewer:Adcroft Family | Sat 27th Aug 2016


Tattoo visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable stay as always, whenever we come to Edinburgh this is always our first choice. The breakfast is delicious and plenty of it. Looking forward to another visit already

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Douglas Smith | Fri 26th Aug 2016


Very good accomodation and very handy for Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

We found the accommodation to be spacious, clean and very pleasant - the location was just what we wanted to visit Edinburgh using the Park and Ride - the food was good and the welcome very genuine

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Willis\' s Friends | Sun 21st Aug 2016


3 nights farm stay- Rating 5/5

Morag is a very friendly, welcoming hostess offering all the home comforts you could wish for. An extensive tasty menu choice of large proportions was available, served with cheerfulness and a sense of humour. My sister and I , highly recommendAshcroft House to any visitor to Scotland. Betty Goleby and Dorothy Cheney.

Reviewer:Mrs. BeatriceGOLEBY | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Anniversary Holiday - Rating 5/5

We chose Ashcroft Farmhouse for our stay close to Edinburgh in order to attend the Military Tattoo and Festival on the occasion of our \'Golden Wedding\'. We could not have chosen better. From the moment we arrived to our departure Elizabeth &Derek proved to be the perfect hosts. Our room was ideal, breakfasts virtually any combination you could wish for, and good with it.Overall, we would definately visit again when in the area, and would most certainly recommend to anyone. Elizabeth and Derek helped make our \'Anniversary Stay\' special.-Thankyou.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Crane | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Great B&B near Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights and really enjoyed it, Great location near the Park and Ride and a short bus ride into Edinburgh. The host Elizabeth has great local knowledge and gave great advice when booking Edinburgh Tattoo tickets. The breakfast and accommodation was first class. Great value and lovely rooms.If you want a B&B near Edinburgh and use the park and ride this is the one, great transport links to Glasgow too.

Reviewer:M & Mrs Michael Bowden | Mon 15th Aug 2016


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Ashcroft and what a wonderful person Elizabeth is, nothing is to much trouble and she will always bring a smile to your face. The serice is first class and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful stay Elizabeth

Reviewer:Mr. Ray Lisney | Sun 14th Aug 2016


Four buddies on an Edinburgh Tattoo visit. - Rating 5/5

Ashcroft Farmhouse, well what can one say? there are not sufficient superlatives to describe how good it is.It is superbly comfortable and spotlessly clean.The breakfasts are superb and the range of choice is excellent.I found the homemade sausage outstanding amongst what is really good food.The warmth and friendliness of the welcome one receives is a reflection of the lovely family that own and run \"Ashcroft\"Be prepared for Elizabeth\'s friendly and amusing banter, it\'s part of the breakfast. She has a wonderfully wicked sense of humour and Derek is a lovely guy.We got soaked to the skin (literally)at the Tattoo on Wednesday 19th August we returned to Ashcroft about 00.30 hrs and found an oasis of comfort and luxury amidst a sea of cold and misery.What a wonderful place to stay. My first visit was 20 years ago and I can honestly say that it has maintained an excellent standard throughout that time.Tony Martin

Reviewer:Tony Martin | Sat 13th Aug 2016


Near to Edinburgh- Rating 4/5

very nice stay, friendly and humouress and a very good breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Joachim Tag | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Ashcroft farmhouse- Rating 5/5

This is a very warm welcoming place , our stay was only short but wouldn\'t hesitate to stay agin or recommend to anyone

Reviewer:James Paul | Fri 5th Aug 2016


Not a single complaint, (clean, highly hospitable & very organized) - Rating 5/5

The make you feel like part of the family from your first contact. The ownersare highly experienced with over 50 years in the hospitality industry. They ensure that, all your requirements are catered. Excellent Service. They are well connected in the region and provided me with a comprehensive information about the area &the region.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Patts | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


First Class Stay - Rating 5/5

First Class accommodation and hospitality. We were made so welcome it felt like staying with our family. Everything was well organised from arriving to departing.Nothing seemed too much trouble. Thank you for an enjoyable stay

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Green | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Only stayed 1 night but the welcome and the standard were excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Jackson | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Visit 25 June 2016 - Rating 5/5

My late wife and myself have visited Ashcroft farmhouse on many occasions over the past twenty years. Now,as a single visitor I was apprehensive,wondering how I would be received. I need not have worried as Elizabeth and Derek were as warm and welcoming as ever and I was made to feel very much at home.The room and breakfast was excellent as always and I look forward to a return visit.

Reviewer:Mr. John Green | Mon 4th Jul 2016


first class - Rating 5/5

made to feel very welcome.comfortable room,very clean every need attended to.Breakfasts very filling,beautifully cooked and presented

Reviewer:Edward & Pauline Daniels | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Lovely stay - Highly reccomended. - Rating 4/5

Elizabeth was very welcoming and very helpful. She provided great breakfasts. The room was very comfortable. There was easy parking and peaceful surroundings. Excellent stay - We were very well looked after.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Peter Sergi | Thu 30th Jun 2016


ashcroft farm house - Rating 5/5

A very friendly host and most comfortable stay. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mrs. irene pickering | Sun 19th Jun 2016


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Wonderful, entertaining and genuine owners. We had a great stay, wonderful breakfast, humour and helpful with arranging are transport. Would highly recommend. B&Bs over hotels every day of the week.

Reviewer:Martin Casey | Mon 13th Jun 2016


Wonderful hospitality in East Calder (close to Edinburgh) - Rating 5/5

The accommodation is comfortable and clean and provides all facilities we could wish for. Elizabeth couldn\'t have done more to make our stay at Ashcroft B&B more comfortable. We stayed there twice within two weeks - once for three nights and once for two nights - and both times were welcomed with friendly help and generous hospitality.

Reviewer:Ms. Helen Petheram | Sat 11th Jun 2016


Kipper breakfast - Rating 5/5

Simply excellent! Lovely place, great host, super breakfast!Special thanks to Elizabeth for the three tasty Kippers

Reviewer:Mr. Carsten Weber | Mon 30th May 2016


Comfortable B&B in East Calder (Edinburgh) - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for three nights and appreciated the friendly reception and comfortable accommodation.

Reviewer:Ms. Helen Petheram | Mon 30th May 2016


Very welcoming B&B - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Very comfortable bed and great breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine McGregor | Mon 16th May 2016


A lovely place to stay - with a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Amazing ambience, comfortable bed and delicious food - what more can you ask for?? I know....the beautiful garden and fabulous hosts.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Roe | Sat 14th May 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Comfy bed, generous amounts of food, a golf themed B&B nr Edinburgh. Derek and Elizabeth are lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Steve Thomas | Fri 13th May 2016


Always a comfortable and enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse every couple of years when we attend the Scotplant event and have done for many years now. We are always made to feel very welcome, our stays have always been enjoyable and comfortable, with Elizabeth as a great hostess! The breakfasts are home cooked and delicious.

Reviewer:Air Seal Products | Mon 25th Apr 2016


5 stars - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay.Very welcoming and fab breakfasts.Keep doing what you are doing. You are a star.

Reviewer:Mr. Rod Abel | Sat 23rd Apr 2016


love and family- Rating 5/5

Simply the best, a lovely place and a lovely person....age has no barriers and dedication and true caring nature shone out, even if we don\'t go back ever meeting Elizabeth was a true blessing

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Matthew Brannan | Wed 30th Mar 2016


I stayed with my adult son, so this was the closest description - Rating 4/5

My son and I stayed at Ashcroft Farmhouse for two nights while attending the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. We very much enjoyed out stay -a nice, spacious, comfortable room and ensuite, delicious breakfast and ample car parking.Comfortable and very friendly

Reviewer:Ms. Gilly Cook | Tue 3rd Nov 2015


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

The Ashcroft Farmhouse is a very nice place to stay while visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding area.The hostess, Elizabeth, is thoroughly knowledgeable and welcoming in giving you a restful place to stay.The b\'fasts are delicious and plentiful. She has lots of hints and maps on getting around.She gives excellent suggestions on places to visit and eat. Our stay was pleasant and Derek\'s gardens are beautiful.

Reviewer:Mr. Bill Swofford | Mon 14th Sep 2015


Wonderful Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Although Elizabeth and Derek were unavailable from injuries prior to our 3 nights stay, the friendly hospitality, excellent comfort and breakfasts, willing help and advice provided by the daughters was exceptional and contributed greatly to our wonderful enjoyable memories of Scotland.Brigitta and Graeme, Western Australia

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Graeme Leach | Thu 10th Sep 2015


Very pleasant and friendly place - Rating 5/5

I spent three nights here and would highly recommend it. Set in a lovely location, the room was immaculate and well provided and the breakfast was delicious. Combined with a welcoming family atmosphere, I cannot recommend this place highly enough and look forward to my next stay there.

Reviewer:Mr. james van denbulcke | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Lontano ma vicino - Rating 4/5

Abbiamo soggiornato per due notti in questo b&b.Le camere sono datate ma confortevoli e pulite.Nonostante la titolare non fosse presente a causa di un infortuneo, la figlia ha saputo garantire ottimamente il servizio:questo dimostra l\'alta professionalita\' dei gestori.Colazione ottima e varia.Il b&b e\' un\'ottima base di partenza per visitare edimburgo, dato che e\' vicino alla fermata del bus che porta direttamente in centro.

Reviewer:Denis Bazzo | Thu 20th Aug 2015


b&b stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect B&B when visiting Edinburgh.Warm friendly welcome. Nice comfortable room. Brilliant breakfast.Would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Peter Whitley | Mon 17th Aug 2015


A GRATE B&B TO STAY - Rating 5/5

IT WAS MUCH BETTER THAN HOME FROM HOME ,WELLCOMING GRATE ROOM, GRATE FOOD ,GRATE TIME I HAD AND THANK YOU EIZABETH FOR YOUR HELP ON MY LAST DAY WITH YOU MUCH LOVE ALAN X

Reviewer:Mr A Potter | Mon 10th Aug 2015


First experience - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome, cosy and fresh room and great breakfasts.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Green | Fri 7th Aug 2015


What a great place to stay - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Clean well equipped room. Exceptionally warm and friendly hostess in Elizabeth. Derek played a big part too.Altogether a great place to stay. Fully recommended. Will go again, even if it is only for one of Elizabeth\'s breakfasts! Not to be missed,

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Kirkman | Sun 5th Jul 2015


2 day break - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here several times over the years and the standard never drops, (immaculate). Elizabeth and Derek are one of the nicest couples we have ever met.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Brian Robertson | Fri 26th Jun 2015


2 day holiday - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay with standards of a high quality. Rooms are spotless, Breakfast is fantastic, and lovely garden to rear of house. Derek and Elizabeth really make you feel welcome when you stay there. Excellent place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Gilmour | Fri 26th Jun 2015


Great Experience - Rating 5/5

Nice place, very clean, friendly family, great breakfast, amazing garden. Very Great experience. Thank you Elizabeth

Reviewer:Mrs. Antonella Scianatico | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Beautiful Scottish B&B - Rating 4/5

Had a fabulous time in Scotland which was made all the better after staying at Ashcroft Farmhouse B&B. Set in a convienent location close to Edinburgh. Clean and tidy throughout and run with a wonderfully chatty landlady who has a story for every occasion. She does a gorgeous breakfast spread which will see you through the whole day ahead. Will definately be looking forward to my return trip in the future.

Reviewer:Darren Tims | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Ashcroft Farmhouse - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a stay - the room/en suite were adequate and extremely clean. The breakfast menu had a wonderful choice and the food was freshly cooked, delicious and generous. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Eagleton | Tue 2nd Jun 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay at Elizabeth\'s home. They very well deserved all accomplishement for the breakfast they serve and the B&B they operate. Thanks again!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Vermes | Mon 1st Jun 2015


almost felt like home ,- Rating 0/5

Elizabeth and Derek are doing a grand job ,5 stars are not enough , clean house , clean garden , breakfast was great , and great company ! do something about the weather, like turn off the water !!!!Derek , it is a bit difficult sleping with all your outside lights on , Thanks Peter + Petra

Reviewer:Peter & Petra Kuhlman | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great host, wonderful breakfast, very quiet and clean accommodation, easy and quiet base for visiting Edinburgh. Thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. Alessandro Tarozzi | Tue 26th May 2015


excellent fpr cyclists or walkers - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay very comfortable and obliging On sustrans route with safe cycle storage.Lovely lovely couple running b&b. Incredible breakfast breakfast.

Reviewer:Sue Fairweather | Fri 8th May 2015


April 2015 - Friendly and good value stay - Rating 5/5

Elizabeth made me feel very welcome on my one night stay...nice clean twin room with en-suite, tea/coffee making facilities and TV. Nice big breakfast in the morning set me up for the day :-)Very good value compared to other accommodations in the area.Would definitely recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Davison | Tue 28th Apr 2015


5 nights in April - Rating 5/5

We found Ashcroft Farmhouse friendly, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were great and a good variety on offer.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Morgan | Wed 22nd Apr 2015


wedding overnight - Rating 5/5

Six of us stayed overnight whilst attending a wedding nearby. we could not have been made more welcome and at breakfast discussed golf and the making of shepherds\' crooks with the Scotts! the bedrooms were spotless and comfortable, great breakfast and plenty parking outside.Thanks for our stay.

Reviewer:Hunter Family | Sat 18th Apr 2015


Superb Accomodation - Rating 5/5

Simply excellent all round.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Peirce Peirce | Tue 24th Mar 2015


Short stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome from our arrival to departure.Comfy bed resulting in a great nights sleep. Breakfast kept us going all day - very tasty. Thanks for a great short stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine Wilson| Mon 23rd Mar 2015


Ashcroft Farmhouse - Rating 4/5

I stayed for three nights, Elizabeth was welcoming and friendly, the room and other areas were spotlessly clean, well equipped rooms and a breakfast which was second to none.

Reviewer:Mr. William Standing | Sat 28th Feb 2015


Excellent Accomodation - Rating 5/5

This was a very nice overnight stay and owners made us fee very much at home....many thanks

Reviewer:Mr. John Mcnaught | Mon 29th Dec 2014


expo scotland - Rating 5/5

Found the farmhouse at the last minute for the proximity to the highland centre. It proved to be an excellent find. Very helpful,a warm well appointed comfortable room with good breakfast choices and an all round winner

Reviewer:Steve Shaw | Sat 8th Nov 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nice warm welcome, excellent facilities with extensive breakfast menu a good set up for the day. Convenient for the airport and good directions for picking up friends. Our friends have also completed a separate review.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Lee\'s Friends | Wed 8th Oct 2014


Made us feel like home - Rating 5/5

Elizabeth is doing a great job. She gives everybody a warm welcome as if she has known one for years. She will do everything possible to make you feel comfortable. Her breakfast is just gorgeous and will give you the perfect start into the day. Don\'t miss it.

Reviewer:Ms. Christina Grünefeld | Mon 6th Oct 2014


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay at this place, Elizabeth and her husband were very welcoming into there home, The breakfast was great and the bed were comfy, look forward to next time.

Reviewer:Jamie Hutcheon, Cocoa Ooze Chocolates | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Hosts welcoming, friendly and helpful. Comfort of room and bed excellent. Quality and quantity of breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Rankine | Tue 2nd Sep 2014


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Home from Home lovely breakfast and plenty of it Elizabeth the owner very welcoming nothing too much trouble excellent value for money would recommend this B&B and would returnMaggie Johnstone

Reviewer:Margaret Johnston | Fri 29th Aug 2014


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A beautiful place to stay with nice rooms, excellent breakfast and a very friendly, helpful and hospitable host.A place that can only be recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs Renate Heine | Mon 18th Aug 2014


Great place to stay !! - Rating 5/5

Spent a lovely weekend at Ashcroft farm house and could not fault the hospitality of the hostes, Elizabeth and Derek. Nothing was too much trouble, was greeted with warmth and friendliness on arrival. Rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything you needed. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. If we are in that part of Scotland again we would not hesitate to book the Ashcroft. Thank you to Elizabeth and Derek

Reviewer:Mrs. Marie Allen | Tue 5th Aug 2014


ON THE JOURNEY - Rating 4/5

We stayed at Ashcroft on our way to the Highlands on the recommendation of our son and daughter in law. We were not disappointed, the room was very comfortable, even a four poster bed. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for a long day of travelling. The welcome was warm and our host a real character!!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Dave Elliott | Mon 4th Aug 2014


The Friendly Games and a Friendly Stay - Rating 5/5

We needed somewhere to stay near to Glasgow for The Games and Ashcroft Farmhouse was ideal.Just outside Edinburgh and only 45 minutes on the train to Glasgow - perfect. Nice rooms and very generous breakfasts.Elizabeth, our host, also made an early packed breakfast when we needed to get on the train at the crack of dawn for one event. She could not do enough for us - even advising on travel arrangements. A delightful stay!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Steve Myers | Thu 31st Jul 2014


We really liked it!!! - Rating 5/5

We spent a really wonderful night at your farmhouse with a very warm welcome and left after a hearty Scottish breakfast. Our older son asked us to stay some more time - next time we will do so!

Reviewer:Mrs. Maria Johag | Tue 22nd Jul 2014


Lovely place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Friendly, welcoming, easy to find &delicious breakfast!

Reviewer:The Amazing Tent CompanyLtd | Sun 13th Jul 2014


Not just another B&B! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I enjoyed our three nights at Ashcroft very much.Everything was just right and nothing was wrong.

Reviewer:Mr Steve Ford | Sun 6th Jul 2014


a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

We had a good stay at the Farmhouse, with a comfortable room, and an excellent breakfast!The information about local amenities was particularly helpful.

Reviewer:Hilary Charman | Wed 25th Jun 2014


The Greens - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Ashcroft Farmhouse on several occasions and have always found the welcome and all the facilities to be of the highest standard.Long may you continue.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Green | Wed 25th Jun 2014


A Gem! - Rating 5/5

This place has to be one of the nicest B&Bs that I have stayed at. The breakfast was certainly the best and the owners are just so nice. We were looked after very well and I would recommend that anyone wishing to visit Edinburgh and the surrounding area stays here!

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Coe | Mon 23rd Jun 2014


Couldnt be better - Rating 5/5

'Lovely people, makes you feel like your visiting family, lovely place, beautifully kept and clean.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Page | Sun 1st Jun 2014


'Ashcroft' Delivers. - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a brief and enjoyable stay at Ashcroft Farmhouse. We found everything was perfect and will always want to return whenever in the area. We found Elizabeth to be the perfect hostess with a great sense of humour and a pleasing personality. 'Ashcroft' is the best B&B we have found for a long time and in our opinion is well worth the five stars.

Reviewer:Mr Rewcastle | Sun 13th Apr 2014


Best B and B Ever - Rating 5/5

From the moment we met Elizabeth and Denis we felt we were with friends.We were made to feel at home immediately. Our room was lovely,the breakfasts were fantastic and we were very central to the places we wanted to visit. We have stayed at many B and B's throughout the United Kingdom but this has to be rated the best ever. We have no hesitation recommending it and would stay there again if we were to visit Scotland.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gail Young | Mon 6th Jan 2014


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly hosts, who served us a delicious cooked breakfast. The room and surroundings were first class.Would not hesitate to book here again .

Response

breakfasts are our USP (unique selling point!) so we are happy that you enjoyed yours.

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs Lowson | Mon 18th Nov 2013


Travelling Alone - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a course in Livingston.Made to feel very welcome.Room very comfortable and nicely furnished. Ensuite shower room with toiletries and plenty of towels. Hot drink provision and tv in room.All in all suited me fine.Breakfast was amazing - generous portions!Enough to take some as my lunch!Lots of choice for all tastes etc.Definitely recommend and would stay again.Preferable to staying in a hotel when travelling alone.Thank you.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will make a booking for your next course.

Reviewer:Sarah Rycroft | Thu 14th Nov 2013


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a very nice 1 night stay while attending a wedding nearby.Very friendly and welcoming owners, well-furnished rooms and a (very) hearty breakfast - what more could you want from a B&B?

Response

Lovely to meet you all and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Yvonne Henry | Mon 11th Nov 2013


Best Kippers - Rating 5/5

Run by two of the nicest people I've come across. Quiet location, rooms excellent, parking easy and one of the best hotel breakfasts I've eaten. Loads better than the overpriced chain hotels in Edinburgh.

Response

Our businessmen love kippers as they tell me that their wives don't like cooking them as they leave an odour in the kitchen - glad you enjoyed yours here!

Reviewer:Mr Jenkinson | Tue 5th Nov 2013


Home from home - Rating 5/5

You will not get a better place to stay. Derek and Elizabeth are so friendly, it is like staying with family. Elizabeth's breakfasts are fantastic, you will not need to eat for the rest of the day. The rooms are really comfortable and so clean and warm. We have stayed twice and will be back again, again and again.

Response

Hope your third visit is soon so that we can spoil you again!

Reviewer:Mr. Jim Griffin | Sat 2nd Nov 2013


Stay 29/10/2013 - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming. Clean and tidy. Very generous breakfast. Plenty of choice of breakfasts.

Response

Our guests love having a choice for breakfast instead of the boring bacon, eggs and beans, and we are happy to oblige.

Reviewer:Mr George Lee | Fri 1st Nov 2013


Dave & Beth - Rating 5/5

Hi Elizabeth andDereck, What a wonderful stay we had yet again in your beutiful B&B more like a home as we were felt so at home. We willbe back again soon so will let you know soonest, I hope 2013 was a good year look forward to 2014 god bless love David &Beth

Response

Lovely to see you again and hope it won't be too long before you come back to Bonnie Scotland for a visit.

Reviewer:Mr. David Gordon | Sun 27th Oct 2013


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

I recently stayed at Ashcroft Farmhouse and found everyone very friendly.Breakfast was brilliant with a very variable choice - I especially enjoyed the smoked salmon.Best I have tasted for a long time!My room was very welcoming and had everything I needed including a dressing gown. The guesthouse is set amid beautiful countrysideI would definitely stay again and would recommend this b&b to anyone.

Response

Wow, this is a lovely review. We try to make our breakfasts the best and only use top quality produce, so it is very much appreciated that you took the time to compliment us. See you again soon hopefully.

Reviewer:Jackie Selby | Mon 16th Sep 2013


A nice Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the welcoming hospitality and atmosphere at Ashcroft, the room and the surrounding area and landscape. The farmhouse was in a good location as we traveled through the Lothians and Borders.

Response

Thanks so much for your nice review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you will come back to Bonnie Scotland again soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dolores Lacey-randall | Thu 12th Sep 2013


wifi - Rating 4/5

Todo correcto excepto el wifi que no era accesible desde mi habitación

Response

I cannot speak Spanish but I think you were saying that the wi-fi didn't work. Nobody else has had a problem with it and it works in all the rooms plus the lounge and dining room so perhaps it was your laptop that had the problem., Please accept my apologies if this was not the case.

Reviewer:Mr. Mjesus Lopez | Tue 3rd Sep 2013


The most friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Elizabeth and Derek Scott are quite the most friendly B&B hosts I have ever stayed with. Courteous, helpful and cheerful, it was like being welcomed by long-lost friends. The breakfast menu was extensive and cooked to perfection. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and well-appointed. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Response

Thanks for your lovely review and it is nice to know that you had a nice stay with us - we try out best to provide the best of everything here.

Reviewer:Neil Juggins | Tue 27th Aug 2013


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel very welcome.Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.Lovely room (4poster), with a comfortable bed.Superb Scottish breakfast.Couldn't fault it.Highly recommended.

Response

Thanks for your kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here, and glad you enjoyed Derek's home made sausage with your Scottish breakfast.

Reviewer:Ms. Debra Lewis | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Overnight stays - Rating 5/5

Our lads always stay if in the Edinburgh area and really enjoy their stay especially the breakfast choice.Nothing is too much trouble. Certainly recommend staying

Response

I love when my guests eat my extra special big breakfasts. Hope they can stay again in the future....................only if Lorna isn't full of course!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Duffield | Fri 2nd Aug 2013


An excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Ashcroft provides stress free experience from initial contact right the way to leaving. A warm welcome awaits you followed by a lovely room with everything you could want, Breakfasts were superb with enough food to keep you full all day. I would heartliy recommend you try it.

Response

Thanks for your review. It certainly makes my lifeworthwhile when lovely guests like yourselves appreciate my efforts to make their stay a happy one.

Reviewer:Peter Barlow | Thu 18th Jul 2013


A warm welcome - Rating 5/5

It was like visiting family or close friends.Travelling alone since my husband died earlier this year, I was glad that Ashcroft was a convenient stop en route to Scotland.Elizabeth and her husband are perfect hosts, attending to guests' every need.Thank you.

Response

Thanks so much for your kind review. It is always difficult travelling as a lady on her own, but we make sure that everyone chats at breakfast to put you at ease. We hope that you will make a return trip soon.,

Reviewer:June Atkinson | Mon 8th Jul 2013


Ashcroft Farmhouse - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Ashcroft Farmhouse on several occasions over many years and have always found the welcome,ambiance and facilities to be of the highest standard.

Response

We enjoyed very much seeing you again - like old family friends.

Reviewer:Mr. John Green | Mon 24th Jun 2013


Ashcroft- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, excellent food and hospitality. I would thoroughly recommend them :)

Response

Thanks very much for your kind remarks. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you will make a return visit soon.

Reviewer:Ms. Pauline Bell | Mon 17th Jun 2013


Ashcroft Farmhouse - Rating 5/5

This was a most pleasant exprience with delightful and perfect hosts. We were made to feel at home. Recommend to all.

Reviewer:Mr. LenHornsby| Thu 23rd May 2013


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Top Hosts.Great facility, Great meals, Great Hosts. Brian &Bronwyn

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Saxby | Sun 19th May 2013


A pleasant, welcoming establishment - Rating 5/5

Myself and colleagues have stayed at Ashcroft Farmhouse in the past whilst away on business and the standards are still as high, the owners keen to ensure you enjoy your stay. We will definitely be returning again in the future and can recommend this establishment to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Lane | Mon 13th May 2013


super nice- Rating 5/5

Stayed for 7 days in April, and this is most likely the best B&B we ever stayed at. Elizabeth and Derrick are wonderful hosts and people. Elizabeth's breakfasts are the best in Scotland, I'm sure. The Farmhouse is nicely located a short walk from the Edinburg bus and in a excellent position to reach many key sites by car. Very comfortable/Quiet rooms that are super well maintained. We intend to return next year.

Response

Thanks so much for your very kind review and it is much appreciated.I would love you to put a review on Trip Advisor too as they are read by even more prospective guests. See you next year!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Vasco | Wed 8th May 2013


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Overnight stay while visiting relatives in the area. First time staying in B&B on myown and I didn't feel awkward. Warm, friendly proprietors. Excellent accommodation. And, that breakfast - what a start to the day. Will be back, but for longer next time. Thank you

Response

Many thanks for yoiur kind comments. We have been in the business for over 50 years and still love meeting guests from all over the world.

Reviewer:Mrs.Anne Rawnsley | Wed 17th Apr 2013


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Elizabeth and Derek made us very welcome in their lovey home. Breakfasts were good and Derek's harmonica playing was such fun. We has our 94 year old mum over to visit friends in Edinburgh. Hope we get the chance to do that again and would certainly choose Ashcroft if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon Mcconnell | Tue 27th Nov 2012


Visit to Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was far above our expectations. We were received in a most friendly way and were really made very welcome. The breakfast was terrific.

Response

Thanks for the kind review. We enjoyed meeting you both and we hope that you will make a return visit in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. John Logan | Thu 27th Sep 2012


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian